Earlier today we revealed that Jacob Rees-Mogg had won the vote of our Members’ Panel to be crowned most effective pro-Leave politician of the year.

Now the time has come to see how our readers ranked his possible pro-Remain counterparts. The candidates were:

Tony Blair: The former Prime Minister has been a high-profile champion of a second vote

Dominic Grieve: The one-time Attorney General has led the Europhile rearguard in the House of Commons

Keir Starmer: Labour’s Shadow Brexit Secretary has fought to keep his party open to a re-run of the referendum

Anna Soubry: High-profile backbencher has talked of defecting and called for pro-Brexit colleagues to be expelled from the Party

Once again we have a clear winner: Dominic Grieve has scooped 55 per cent of the vote, comfortably seeing off all challengers.

It’s a well-deserved award: for all the talk of new parties and public pressure, it’s Grieve’s parliamentary tactics – echoing those employed so effectively by Steve Baker in the run-up to the 2016 referendum – that have done most to put pressure on the Government and restrict Theresa May’s room for manoeuvre.

As for the rest of the pack, Starmer is a distant second with just over a fifth of the vote, with Soubry and Blair mustering 13.5 and 11 per cent respectively.

Here are the results in full: