After Nick Clegg delivered his New Year message earlier, we have some seasonal tidings for him: you’re not Conservative members’ Yellow B**tard of the Year, Nick!

I’d like to think this is because plenty of Tories agree with my take on the Deputy Prime Minister, but I suspect it’s simply because they loathe him less than they loathe one other Lib Dem in particular. Here are the final standings from our Christmas survey of 800 or so Party members:

  • Vince Cable: 31 per cent.
  • Nick Clegg: 24 per cent.
  • Matthew Oakeshott: 13 per cent.
  • Ed Davey: 10.5 per cent.
  • Tim Farron: 10.5 per cent.
  • Sarah Teather: 6 per cent.

Of course, as the two Coalition parties differentiate themselves into the next election, most Lib Dems would probably quite like ConHome’s Yellow B**tard award. So, congratulations to Vince Cable. And commiserations to Tim Farron, who, judging by his recent activities, clearly had his eyes on this prize.