Yesterday, we began taking nominations for the first five categories in our End of Year Awards. Today, it’s the final five categories, starting with this: Conservative Parliamentarian of the Year.

This award is, of course, for the Conservative MP or Peer who has most impressed you this year. They shouldn’t be ministers, but we aren’t ruling out the payroll vote altogether – not least because, as Paul Goodman wrote recently, it’s become such a grey area. You can nominate whips and PPSs and that sort of thing.

So, who deserves to be nominated? Last year’s Backbencher of the Year, and biographer of Burke, Jesse Norman? Perpetual campaigner, Robert Halfon? Charlotte Leslie, for exposing bad practice in the NHS? Or perhaps someone from the other place, such as Baroness Stowell, who helped steer the Same-Sex Marriage Bill through the Lords?

The choice, as always, is yours. Just state it in the comments section.

53 comments for: Nominate your Conservative Parliamentarian of the Year

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.