Please click here to vote in the eleven categories.

If you wish to advertise the voting to others, on your blog or in a mailing list to supporters, please use this long internet address:

The shortlists were based on nominations provided by readers and then refined by the editors and informed figures of the conservative movement. The new Next Generation category has been merged into One to Watch, and we’ve added Scoop of the Year to recognise investigative journalists.

The nominees and categories are listed below:


  • The Triumph of the Political Class by Peter Oborne
  • Wasting Police Time by PC David Copperfield
  • Scared To Death by Christopher Booker and Richard North


  • Nadine Dorries MP for her campaigning on abortion and for her blog’s insight into the life of an MP
  • Michael Fallon MP for holding the Government to account in the Treasury Select Committtee
  • Philip Hollobone MP for not using his Commons staff allowance but still being a very active constituency MP and parliamentarian


  • Jeff Randall for his business-friendly and politically potent Telegraph columns
  • Fraser Nelson for his weekly Spectator and News of the World columns
  • Graeme Archer for his witty and humane column for


  • Shaun Bailey for being a new kind of Conservative candidate with real understanding of poor communities
  • James Forsyth at The Spectator for his perceptive writing on foreign affairs and for overseeing the launch of The Spectator’s Coffee House blog
  • Ben Rogers and the Conservative Party’s Human Rights Commission


  • Peter Lilley’s proposals for ‘Real Trade’ with rich countries reorientating their trade policies to help the poorest nations
  • Jeremy Hunt’s proposal for a small proportion of the licence fee to be used by a broadcaster other than the BBC
  • David Cameron’s plans for new co-operative schools, run by parents and local communities


  • Migration Watch for leading a reasoned campaign for more controlled immigration
  • No2ID for coordinating efforts against a national ID card
  • The TaxPayers’ Alliance for successful and innovative campaigning on behalf of taxpayers


  • Peter Whittle for establishing the New Culture Forum and presenting the weekly 18 Doughty Street programme, Culture Clash
  • Douglas Murray for leadership of the new Centre for Social Cohesion
  • Jeremy Clarkson and the Top Gear team for defying the BBC monoculture


  • The Conservatives Abroad website and its targeting of ex-pat voters
  • The Tax Pacman game launched by the Conservatives at Party Conference
  • Guido Fawkes for the viral video, watched by hundreds of thousands, of Gordon Brown picking his nose


  • Stephen Greenhalgh for, as Leader of Hammersmith & Fulham Council, reducing taxes and improving services
  • Cllr Peter Golds OBE for a lifetime of service to the London Conservative Party
  • Zac Goldsmith for his referendum campaign against a Sainsbury superstore in Barnes, Richmond-upon-Thames


  • Ben Rogers for tirelessly campaigning on human rights issues, notably Burma which he has visited 18 times
  • Linda Whetstone of the International Policy Network for continuing the work of her late father, Sir Anthony Fisher, in helping spread freedom around the world through the active creation of a global network of think-tanks
  • Philippa Broom for her work in the Conservative Party’s international office, forging strong links with sister parties around the world

The eleventh category does not reward the conservative movement but investigative journalism:


  • Andrew Gilligan for exposing Mayor Livingstone’s financial support for Lee Jasper’s organisations
  • David Hencke’s investigation that revealed that Labour spent £1m on preparations for the election that never was
  • Jonathan Oliver for uncovering the David Abrahams’ funding scam

In addition to the eleven categories above there will be a special lifetime contribution award on the evening of the awards ceremony.