They were

  • Peter Bone.
  • Philip Davies.
  • Philip Hollobone.
  • Esther McVey.
  • Desmond Swayne.
  • Charles Walker.
  • William Wragg.

These MPs can’t have been satisfied with the compromise reached between the Government and Graham Brady over future votes on any changes to Act’s provisions.

They include some of the most committed Brexiteers in the Parliamentary, some of whom operate at a certain distance from the European Research Group: Bone and Hollobone especially.

Swayne told the Commons earlier this week that “I certainly hold up the Swedish model as an alternative”, and clearly he is not alone in thinking so among this band of backbenchers.