Voting has been underway for six hours, and there are another nine hours to go. The pollsters differ widely on the range of possible results, and of course no election is settled until the actual votes are cast, counted (and, if necessary, contested).

We therefore don’t have any idea of what the outcome will be, in terms of total seat numbers or individual seat gains.

What we do know, however, is which Conservative candidates are at the sharp end of the campaign: those fighting to retain Tory-held seats vacated by their incumbents, and those contesting target seats.

The details of target seats are not officially published, of course, so the list below is the product of our reporting and research during the campaign and may be incomplete. But under any election outcome we can say that the 2019 intake of Conservative MPs is likely to be drawn from the list of 103 candidates below.

How many of them take a seat on the green benches will rest on how good or bad a night it is – and it’s possible that they might be joined by unexpected winners in seats not officially being targeted – but if you’re looking ahead to who the politicians are who might form the next Parliament, this is a good place to start:

Candidates in Tory-held seats 

Aberconwy: Robin Millar

Aberdeen South: Douglas Lumsden

Arundel and South Downs: Andrew Griffith

Aylesbury: Rob Butler

Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock: Martin Dowey

Beaconsfield: Joy Morrissey

Bosworth: Dr Luke Evans

Bracknell: James Sunderland

Broadland: Jerome Mayhew

Broxtowe: Darren Henry

Buckingham: Greg Smith

Burton: Kate Griffiths

Cities of London and Westminster: Nickie Aiken

Derbyshire Dales: Sarah Dines

Devizes: Danny Kruger

Dover and Deal: Natalie Elphicke

Eastleigh: Paul Holmes

East Devon: Simon Jupp

East Surrey: Claire Coutinho

Eddisbury: Edward Timpson

Grantham and Stamford: Gareth Davies

Guildford: Angela Richardson

Hastings and Rye: Sally Ann Hart

Hertford and Stortford: Julie Marson

Loughborough: Jane Hunt

Meon Valley: Flick Drummond

Meriden: Saqib Bhatti

Mid Sussex: Mims Davies

Milton Keynes North: Ben Everitt

Montgomeryshire: Craig Williams

Newbury: Laura Farris

North Devon: Selaine Saxby

North East Bedfordshire: Richard Fuller

North West Norfolk: James Wild

Orpington: Gareth Bacon

Penrith and the Borders: Dr Neil Hudson

Putney: Will Sweet

Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner: David Simmonds

Runnymede and Weybridge: Dr Ben Spencer

Rushcliffe: Ruth Edwards

Rutland and Melton: Alicia Kearns

Sevenoaks: Laura Trott (no, not the cyclist)

South Cambridgeshire: Anthony Browne

South Ribble: Katherine Fletcher

South West Hertfordshire: Gagan Mohindra

Stafford: Theo Clarke

Stourbridge: Suzanne Webb

Totnes: Anthony Mangnall

Truro and Falmouth: Cherilyn Mackrory

Wantage: David Johnston

Watford: Dean Russell

West Dorset: Chris Loder

Candidates in target seats 

Alyn and Deeside: Sanjoy Sen

Barrow and Furness: Simon Fell

Bassetlaw: Brendan Clarke-Smith

Bedford: Ryan Henson

Birmingham Northfield: Gary Sambrook

Bishop Auckland: Dehenna Davison

Blackpool South: Scott Benton

Brecon and Radnorshire: Fay Jones

Bridgend: Dr. Jamie Wallis

Bristol North West: Mark Weston

Bury North: James Daly

Bury South: Christian Wakeford

Canterbury: Anna Firth

Cardiff North: Mohamed Y. Ali

Colne Valley: Jason McCartney

Clwyd South: Simon Baynes

Crewe and Nantwich: Kieran Mullan

Croydon Central: Mario Creatura

Darlington: Peter Gibson

Delyn: Rob Roberts

Derby North: Amanda Solloway

Dudley North: Marco Longhi

Eastbourne: Caroline Ansell

Enfield Southgate: David Burrowes

Gower: Francesca O’Brien

High Peak: Robert Largan

Ipswich: Tom Hunt

Keighley: Robbie Moore

Kensington: Felicity Buchan

Kingston and Surbiton: Aphra Brandreth

Lincoln: Karl McCartney

Oxford West and Abingdon: James Fredrickson

Newcastle-under-Lyme: Aaron Bell

Penistone and Stocksbridge: Miriam Cates

Peterborough: Paul Bristow

Plymouth Sutton and Devonport: Rebecca Smith

Portsmouth South: Donna Jones

Reading East: Craig Morley

Rother Valley: Alexander Stafford

Stockton South: Matt Vickers

Stoke North: Jonathan Gullis

Stoke Central: Jo Gideon

Stroud: Siobhan Baillie

Vale of Clwyd: Dr James Davies

Wakefield: Imran Khan

Warrington South: Andy Carter

Warwick and Leamington: Jack Rankin

Weaver Vale: Adam Wordsworth

West Bromwich West: Shaun Bailey (No, not that Shaun Bailey)

Wolverhampton South West: Stuart Anderson

Wrexham: Sarah Atherton