It has been a long time coming. After two and a half years of mounting political drama, during which it sometimes felt like Brexit might not happen at all, the House of Commons has finally – and resoundingly – endorsed a plan for leaving the European Union.

Whilst there remain several stages of parliamentary scrutiny to go, the Government insists that the EU (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill will be on the statute book in time to deliver Britain’s departure by January 31 next year.

The Bill is similar to that which the Commons might have backed in October, had MPs not rejected the Prime Minister’s three-day deadline for passing it, but removes several provisions inserted to appease Opposition MPs.

According to the CommonsVotes app, six Labour MPs backed the Bill at second reading. These were: Sarah Champion (Rotherham); Rosie Cooper (West Lancashire); John Cruddas (Dagenham & Rainham); Emma Lewell-Buck (South Shields); Grahame Morris (Easington); and Toby Perkins (Chesterfield).

72 comments for: The Withdrawal Agreement Bill passes Second Reading – 358 to 234

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.