By my count there are nine selections taking place in Conservative-held seats tonight. We have already published the shortlists for several of them and here are three more:

Guildford (Conservative majority: 17,040)

Selection date: Thursday 7th November

Andrew Colborne-Baber: A former Chairman of the Guildford Conservative Association, Colborne-Baber is a current Vice President of the National Conservative Convention and thereby sits on the Conservative Party Board as well as the Party’s Membership Committee. He is the owner of The Bear Garden, a specialist collectible teddy bear shop in Guildford, which he founded in 1992.

Ben Obese-Jecty: Obese-Jecty is a former British Army officer, and served on operations in Iraq and Afghanistan. Since leaving the Army, he has worked for seven years as a project manager for JP Morgan, most recently on the bank’s Brexit strategy. He serves as Deputy Chairman (Political) of Hornsey and Wood Green Conservative Association.

Angela Richardson: Originally from New Zealand, Richardson is a former Deputy Chairman (Political) of Guildford Conservatives and serves as Vice Chairman of Cranleigh Parish Council. Her professional background is in investment banking operations, having worked at Schroders and Axa Investment Managers. In addition to Conservative activism and campaigning, she fundraises for local charities. Her past ConservativeHome articles can be read here. She was a finalist in Canterbury.


North East Bedfordshire (Conservative majority: 20,862)

Selection date: Thursday 7th November

Parvez Akhtar. An engine design specialist, Akhtar has worked for car manufacturers such as Ford and Jaguar Land Rover, and currently works as an Engineering Manager for Caterpillar Inc. In 2009, he was the Conservative candidate in the Bedford mayoral by-election, and in 2018 he was originally shortlisted for the Bedford Parliamentary constituency. His articles for ConservativeHome can be found here.

Simon Burton: Having started out as a Parliamentary Assistant and then Constituency Organiser for Jonathan Djanogly MP, Burton has risen swiftly through the ranks of Conservative advisers, serving as a Special Adviser to Patrick McLoughlin at the Department for Transport from 2014-2016, then as SpAd to the Chief Whip since August 2016. He still holds that position, and is currently advising his third Chief Whip. In 2017 he was a finalist for Chelmsford.

Richard Fuller: A former Chairman of the Young Conservatives in the mid-1980s, Fuller was MP for Bedford from 2010 to 2017, when he was narrowly defeated by Labour. He is a Patron of the Tory Reform Group, although he supported Leave in the EU referendum. Prior to politics, much of his career was spent in management consulting and venture capitalism, and since leaving Parliament he has worked for the last two years as Executive Chairman of Impero, a software firm which operates in the UK and Texas.


Eastleigh (Conservative majority: 14,179)

Selection date: Thursday 7th November

Paul Holmes. Currently Head of Public Affairs for Clarion Housing, the UK’s largest housing association, Holmes was previously Special Adviser to Damian Green at the Cabinet Office, and before that was Special Adviser to Patrick McLoughlin when he was Party Chairman. Holmes served as a councillor for four years in Southampton, including as Cabinet Member for Children’s Services and Learning. He contested Mitcham and Morden in the 2015 General Election, and Southampton Test in 2017.

Cllr Emma Lane: A New Forest District Councillor, Lane is also Deputy Area Chairman of Hampshire Conservatives, and a former Chairman of New Forest West Conservative Association. She has worked in finance for most of her career – currently working as an Area Director at Allied Irish Bank. She fought Swansea West in 2015, and in 2017 she contested Hornsey and Wood Green.

Plus: an unknown third candidate.


Other selections taking place tonight are:

Aberconwyshortlist here

Derbyshire Dales – shortlist not yet known

Eddisburyshortlist here

Ruislip, Northwood and Pinnershortlist here

Stourbridge – shortlist not yet known

Truro and Falmouthshortlist here

As ever, our coverage relies on a large number of people who choose to share insights and tips about the process in the interests of transparency and internal party democracy. Thank you to all those who have contributed so far – if you know the date of a selection meeting, the composition of a shortlist, or the name of a successful candidate, please let us know here. We always respect our sources’ right to anonymity.