***You can find the Day Three live blog here.***


  • Chris Heaton-Harris has been appointed Minister of State at the Department of Transport. He was No Deal Minister at DEXEU until he resigned in protest at the missing of the March Brexit deadline. During the leadership contest he first backed Andrea Leadsom, then Boris Johnson.
  • Chris Skidmore – who had been standing in as a Cabinet attendee while Claire Perry was away – moves from Universities Minister to become Minister of State at Health and Social Care, apparently replacing Stephen Hammond. Internal Party roles will be sorted out later, so we don’t know if he retains his Deputy Chairman for Policy position. Skidmore backed Sajid Javid to be leader.
  • Caroline Dinenage continues as Minister of State for Social Care. Presumably she will have a lot of work ahead given the Prime Minister’s promise yesterday of a policy to solve the social care crisis. She supported Jeremy Hunt for the leadership, so it’s evidently not a complete clear-out of Hunt backers.


Good news for four more Johnson supporters:

  • Chris Pincher, previously the Deputy Chief Whip, becomes Minister for Europe and the Americas at the FCO. The post was previously held by Alan Duncan.
  • Andrew Stephenson is bumped up from PUSS at BEIS to take on Harriet Baldwin’s old job as FCO/DfID Minister of State for Africa and International Development.
  • Mark Lancaster continues as Armed Forces Minister.
  • Justin Tomlinson stays on as Minister for Disabled People at DWP.


  • The first bump in the road for today’s shuffle – Steve Baker has turned down an offer of a junior role at DEXEU. That’s the position he previously held until Chequers, and it’s that “experience of powerlessness” that he cites for not wanting to return to the position. Given Jacob Rees-Mogg is now in Government, it’s possible Baker will become ERG chairman.
  • As ever at this stage, when you see news of appointments or promotions we don’t know which of the previous incumbents are moving up and which are being moved out of Government. Harriet Baldwin has confirmed that she is returning to the backbenches, having been joint FCO/DfID Minister of State for Africa and International Development.


  • Conor Burns is appointed Minister of State at the Department for International Trade. An ardent Brexiteer, he was PPS to Boris Johnson until he resigned with him over Chequers, and has often been seen at his right hand during the leadership campaign.
  • George Eustice is restored to his former role as Minister of State for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food at DEFRA. Another long-standing Eurosceptic, he quit this job in February when Theresa May opened the door to the possibility of delaying Brexit. He backed Michael Gove for the leadership.
  • Thérèse Coffey is also appointed a Minister of State at DEFRA, a promotion from her previous position as PUSS in the same department. She backed Johnson in the leadership contest.


  • Nick Gibb has tweeted that he is “Delighted to have been asked by the Prime Minister to continue as Schools Minister”, a role he has held since 2015 and in which he has won many plaudits as a champion of educational standards. He supported Michael Gove in the leadership contest.
  • Kit Malthouse – he of the eponymous Compromise – is reportedly the new Police Minister, in which capacity he’ll be overseeing the Prime Minister’s early pledge to recruit 20,000 additional police officers. After an early run for the leadership, he backed Johnson – whom he served as a Deputy Mayor of London for eight years, including four with responsibility for policing. The Minister of Police job was previously held by Nick Hurd, who was also Minister for London.


Good evening – Mark Wallace here, kicking off the live blog for day two of the formation of Boris Johnson’s new Government.

Yesterday’s Cabinet shuffle lasted until midnight, and it seems that today’s will largely be an evening activity. Indeed, if you wondered how tightly Downing Street has planned all this, the first appointment press release yesterday went out at 18.35 and the first appointment press release today went out at 18.37.

In light of the way the Cabinet shaped up, it will be interesting to watch the Leave/Remain split of today’s appointees, and to see if many (or any) former Jeremy Hunt supporters get jobs.

This phase begins with news of the Ministers of State – starting with one person staying in post, and two new appointments.

  • Jesse Norman stays on as Financial Secretary to the Treasury, surviving from the Hammond era to the Javid one. He backed Johnson in the leadership contest, after consulting on whether to run for the job himself.
  • Nigel Adams has been appointed Minister of State at DMCS, reportedly with responsibilities including sport. Adams supported Leave in the referendum, and resigned from a junior Wales Office role in April in protest at May’s attempts to strike an agreement with Labour. He supported Boris Johnson in the leadership contest. The previous Sport Minister was Mims Davies, who also covered the Loneliness brief – it’s not yet clear if that role now belongs to Adams too, and if so what has become of Davies.
  • Lucy Frazer is promoted from Solicitor General to become Minister of State at the Ministry of Justice (a department where she previously served as a Parliamentary Under Secretary of State). It seems likely that she is the new Prisons Minister – and is therefore career-pursuing Robert Buckland, whom she succeeded as Solicitor General when he became Prisons Minister back in May. It’s a small world. Frazer supported Boris Johnson in the leadership race.