While the 1922 Committee Chairman’s amendment passed by 317 votes to 301, there was a bit of rebel-trading between the two main parties. Seven Labour MPs voted in favour of the amendment, defying their party, while eight Conservative MPs rebelled by voting against it. Uniquely tonight, one of them – Anne Marie Morris – comes not from the pro-EU end of the Parliamentary Conservative Party but from the ERG.

The eight are:

Heidi Allen

Guto Bebb

Ken Clarke

Dominic Grieve

Phillip Lee

Anne Marie Morris

Anna Soubry

Sarah Wollaston

As Paul has already recorded elsewhere on the site, the seven Labour pro-Brady rebels were as follows:

Ian Austin

Kevin Barron

Jim Fitzpatrick

Roger Godsiff

Kate Hoey

John Mann

Graham Stringer