While there was general expectation that there would be some Conservative votes for the Cooper/Boles proposal which involved delaying Article 50 by nine months, it is quite remarkable that a dozen Conservative MPs even rebelled to vote for Rachel Reeves’ amendment, which proposed a two-year delay to Article 50.

Of the original 15 supporters of the Grieve amendment, three didn’t fancy this one – Heidi Allen and Ed Vaizey abstained, while Sir Nicholas Soames voted against it.

Here is the full list of rebels:

  • Guto Bebb
  • Nick Boles
  • Ken Clarke
  • Jonathan Djanogly
  • Justine Greening
  • Dominic Grieve
  • Sam Gyimah
  • Phillip Lee
  • Oliver Letwin
  • Antoinette Sandbach
  • Anna Soubry
  • Sarah Wollaston