There’s still a troubling degree of confusion going round about exactly what ministers did and did not concede over Dominic Grieve’s “meaningful vote” amendment.

But one thing is confirmed – while various would-be rebels abstained in the end (including Phillip Lee), two Conservative MPs still voted with the Opposition and against the Government.

In the event, Ken Clarke and Anna Soubry were the only two Tory rebels.

Meanwhile, five Labour MPs rebelled to vote with the Government: Ronnie Campbell, Frank Field, Kate Hoey, John Mann and Graham Stringer. They were joined by Kelvin Hopkins, who sits as an independent since his suspension from Labour.