Please note, this list records the election results in terms of council control – individual changes in numbers of seats is not included. We have colour-coded the results where the status of a council has changed, to illustrate the nature of the news by Party. It will be updated intermittently as the day proceeds.

Metropolitan boroughs all out

Birmingham – No change

Leeds – No change


Barking and Dagenham – No change

Barnet – Conservative gain from NOC

Bexley – No change

Brent – No change

Bromley – No change

Camden – No change

Croydon – No change

Ealing – No change

Enfield  – No change

Greenwich – No change

Hackney – No change

Hammersmith and Fulham  – No change

Haringey – No change

Harrow – No change

Havering – No change

Hillingdon – No change

Hounslow – No change

Islington – No change

Kensington and Chelsea –  No change

Kingston upon Thames – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative

Lambeth – No change

Lewisham – No change

Merton – No change

Newham – No change

Redbridge – No change

Richmond upon Thames – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative

Southwark – No change

Sutton – No change

Tower Hamlets – Still counting as we close for the day.

Waltham Forest – No change

Wandsworth – No Change

Westminster – No Change

Manchester – No Change.

Metropolitan boroughs electing in thirds

Greater Manchester

Bolton – No change

Bury – No change

Oldham – No change

Rochdale – No change

Salford – No change

Stockport – No change

Tameside – No change

Trafford – NOC from Conservative

Wigan – No change


Liverpool – No change

Knowsley – No change

St Helens – No change

Sefton – No change

Wirral – No change

South Yorkshire

Sheffield – No change

Barnsley – No change

Tyne and Wear

Newcastle Upon Tyne – No change

Gateshead – No change

South Tyneside – No change

North Tyneside – No change

Sunderland – No change

West Midlands

Coventry – No change

Dudley – No change

Sandwell – No change

Solihull – No change

Walsall – No change

Wolverhampton – No change

West Yorkshire

Bradford – No change

Calderdale – No change

Kirklees – Labour gain from NOC

Wakefield – No change

Non-metropolitan boroughs all out

Eastleigh  – No change

Harrogate – No change

Hastings – No change

Huntingdonshire – No change.

Newcastle-under-Lyme – No change

South Cambridgeshire – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative

South Lakeland – No change

Non-metropolitan boroughs electing half

Adur – No change

Cheltenham – No change

Fareham – No change

Gosport – No change

Nuneaton & Bedworth – NOC from Labour

Oxford – No change

Non-metropolitan boroughs electing in thirds

Amber Valley – No change

Basildon – Conservative gain from NOC

Basingstoke and Deane – No change

Brentwood – No change

Broxbourne – No change

Burnley – No change

Cambridge – No change

Cannock Chase – No change

Carlisle – No change

Castle Point – No change

Cherwell – No change

Chorley – No change

Colchester – No change

Craven – No change

Crawley – No change

Daventry – No change

Elmbridge -No change

Epping Forest – No change

Exeter – No change

Great Yarmouth – No change

Harlow – No change

Hart – No change

Havant – No change

Hyndburn – No change

Ipswich – No change

Lincoln – No change

Maidstone – No change

Mole Valley – NOC from Conservative

North Hertfordshire – No change

Norwich – No change

Pendle – Conservative gain from NOC

Preston – No change

Redditch – Conservative gain from Labour

Reigate and Banstead

Rochford – No change

Rossendale – No change

Rugby – No change

Runnymede – No change

Rushmoor – No change

St Albans – No change

Stevenage – No change

Tamworth – No change

Tandridge – No change

Three Rivers – Liberal Democrat gain from NOC

Tunbridge Wells – No change

Watford – No change

Welwyn Hatfield – No change

West Lancashire – No change

West Oxfordshire – No change

Winchester – No change

Woking – No change

Worcester – No change

Worthing – No change

Wyre Forest – No change

Unitary authorities all out

Blackburn with Darwen – No change

Kingston-upon-Hull – No change

Unitary authorities electing in thirds

Derby – NOC from Labour

Halton – No change

Hartlepool – No change

Milton Keynes – No change

North East Lincolnshire – No change

Peterborough – Conservative gain from NOC

Plymouth – Labour gain from Conservative

Portsmouth – No change

Reading – No change

Slough – No change

Southampton – No change

Southend-on-Sea – Conservative gain from NOC

Swindon – No change

Thurrock – No change

Wokingham – No change

Mayoral elections

Hackney – No change.

Lewisham – No change.

Newham – No change.

Tower Hamlets – No change.

Watford – No change.

Metro-mayoral election

Sheffield City Region – Labour’s Dan Jarvis is its first-ever mayor.