The following have been elected:


  • Bob Blackman
  • Kevin Hollinrake
  • Andrew Lewer
  • Mark Prisk
  • Mary Robinson


  • Leo Docherty
  • Mark Francois
  • Johnny Mercer


  • Simon Hart
  • Julian Knight
  • Rebecca Pow
  • Giles Watling


  • Lucy Allan
  • Michelle Donelan
  • Trudy Harrison
  • William Wragg

Environment, food and rural affairs

  • Dr Caroline Johnson
  • Sheryll Murray
  • Julian Sturdy

Foreign Affairs

  • Nusrat Ghani
  • Andrew Rosindell
  • Royston Smith
  • Nadhim Zahawi

International Development

  • James Duddridge
  • Nigel Evans
  • Jeremy Lefroy
  • Paul Scully
  • Henry Smith

International Trade

  • Julia Dockerill
  • Nigel Evans
  • Marcus Fysh
  • Ranil Jayawardena

Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs

  • Marcus Fysh
  • Cheryl Gillan
  • David Jones
  • David Morris


  • Steve Double
  • Huw Merriman
  • Iain Stewart
  • Martin Vickers


  • Charlie Elphicke
  • Stephen Hammond
  • Alister Jack
  • Kit Malthouse

– – –

  • The squeeze on Conservative committee places as a consequence of the general election result has had some savage consequences: for example, Crispin Blunt, the former Foreign Affairs Select Committee Chairman, lost out in the contest to get on it.
  • There was a “very high turnout”, ConHome is told.
  • Old truths apply: if you’re able, popular with your colleagues and know what you’re talking about, your chances of making it through the pack increase.  These qualities – or even two of the three – seem to have mattered more in this poll than loyalties of ideology or intake.  Consider the following as examples, picked more or less at random: Mark Prisk, Leo Doherty, Nus Ghani, David Jones, Iain Stewart, Stephen Hammond.  Our very able columnist Nadhim Zahawi is back on Foreign Affairs.
  • A statement by Graham Brady on behalf of the 1922 Committee says: “There remains some uncertainty over the number of places the Conservative Party will be allocated on the Exiting the European Union Select Committee. Whilst the vote has been counted, I will not therefore be in a position to announce the result until this is finalised.”