The Sunday Times (£) has published an erroneous account of David Cameron’s nominations honours list.  We are happy to put the record straight:

  • Boris Johnson will become a Companion of Honour.
  • Dominic Cummings will become Lord Cummings of Colonel Kurtz Enterprises.
  • Michael Gove will become Sir Michael Gove, and a knight of the Most Noble Order of the Garter.
  • Chris Grayling will become Sir Chris Grayling.
  • Priti Patel will become Dame Priti Patel.
  • Theresa Villiers will become Dame Theresa Villiers.
  • John Whittingdale will become Sir John Whittingdale.
  • Daniel Hannan will receive the Order of Merit.
  • Douglas Carswell will become British Ambassador to France.
  • Patrick Barbour will become Lord Barbour.
  • Peter Cruddas will become Lord Cruddas.
  • Terence Adams will become Lord Adams.
  • Matthew Elliott’s hairdresser will receive the OBE.
  • Paul Stephenson will receive the CBE.
  • Stephen Parkinson will become Bodley’s Librarian.
  • John Cleese will become Clarenceux King of Arms.
  • Sir Ian Botham will become Manager of the England Football Team.
  • Penny Mordaunt would have become Dame Penny Mordaunt, but a knighthood has been bestowed on her instead by special request of members of the Royal Navy. (See also here.)
  • And, yes, Nigel Farage will – at last – become Lord Farage of MyShout.

To those who claim that this list is absurd, our answer is that it is neither more or less so than the real thing – and just a bit more representative of the referendum result.




26 comments for: Revealed. Boris Johnson, CH. Sir Penny Mordaunt. And a CBE for Matthew Elliott’s hairdresser. Cameron’s real honours list.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.