There has been some small furore today about David Cameron’s awarding of honours to Tories in the New Year’s honours list – almost 30, according to The Independent.

Below, we’ve compiled a list of the Tory peers, elected representatives, employees, advisers, activists and supporters listed as receiving honours today. We have identified 19, but if we have missed any please do let us know in the comments:

Knights Bachelor

  • Henry Bellingham – MP for Norfolk North West. For political and parliamentary service.
  • Lynton Crosby – Election strategist. For political service
  • Harvey McGrath – Philanthropist, Big Society pioneer. For services to Economic Growth and Public Life.


  • Zameer Choudrey – Chief Executive, Bestway and Co-Chairman, Conservative Friends of Pakistan. For services to the UK Wholesale Industry and charity in the UK and Abroad
  • Jacqueline Gold – Chief Executive, Ann Summers. For services to Entrepreneurship, Women in Business and Social Enterprise.
  • Mark McInnes – Director, Scottish Conservatives. For political service.
  • Dr Rami Ranger – Chairman, Sun Mark. For services to Business and Community Cohesion.
  • James Stewart – Treasurer, Scottish Conservatives. For political service.
  • Jill Shaw Ruddock – Author and Philanthropist. For philanthropic services to Older People.


  • Cllr Peter Fleming – Leader, Sevenoaks District Council. For services to Local Government.
  • Marion Little – Campaign Specialist, CCHQ. For political service.
  • Dr Spencer Pitfield – Director, National Policy Forum. For political service.
  • Cllr John Riddle – Chairman, Northumberland National Park. For services to the community, Environment, and Business in Northumberland.
  • Cllr Katherine Tracey – Cabinet Member for Education and Children’s Services, Wandsworth Borough Council. For services to Children and Families.
  • Anita Zabludowicz – Philanthropist. For services to the Arts.


  • Christopher Fenwick – Deputy Chairman, United and Cecil Club. For political service.
  • Lyndon Jones – Deputy Chairman, Welsh Conservatives. For political service.
  • Caroline Roberts – Former Chairman, London Conservatives, and member of the Disciplinary Committee of the Conservative Party. For political service.
  • Lord Swinfen. For services to international telemedicine.

34 comments for: The Tories rewarded in the New Year’s honours list

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.