The motion moved by Frank Field in a Backbench Business debate earlier today was as follows:

“That this House calls on the Government to reconsider the effect on the lowest paid workers of its proposed changes to tax credits due to come into force in April 2016, to carry out and publish an analysis of that effect, and to bring forward proposals to mitigate it.”

The Government did not oppose the motion, and the official Conservative position was to abstain.  The 20 Tory MPs named below either joined opposition MPs in the lobbies or acted as tellers.

Allen, Foster, Mann, Matthias and Quince entered the Commons in May for the first time.  All of these bar Allen won their seats from other parties.

Indeed, only Davis, Jenkin, Loughton and Parish hold constituencies that have been Conservative since before 2005.  15 of the 20 were elected in either 2015 or 2010.

The first tax credits revolt, which took place in September, saw only two Tories vote against the Government (Davis and McPartland).

It is therefore fair to say that the number of rebels has risen; that it is concentrated among post-2005 intake Conservatives, and in seats that are either marginal or were until recently.

  • Peter Aldous.
  • Heidi Allen.
  • Bob Blackman.
  • David Davis.
  • Kevin Foster.
  • Philip Hollobone.
  • Adam Holloway.
  • Bernard Jenkin.
  • Tim Loughton.
  • Scott Mann.
  • Tania Mathias.
  • Jason McCartney.
  • Stephen McPartland.
  • Neil Parish.
  • Andrew Percy.
  • Will Quince.
  • Jacob Rees-Mogg.
  • Martin Vickers.


  • Guto Bebb.
  • Jeremy Lefroy.