We can now reveal the shortlist for the Eddisbury selection, which will take place this coming week following Stephen O’Brien’s appointment to the UN. The three finalists are:

  • Cllr Janet Clowes. A former nurse, turned lecturer (first at South Cheshire College then Chester University), Cllr Clowes is the Cabinet member for health and care on East Cheshire council. In 2010 she fought Wythenshawe and Sale East, increasing the Conservative vote share by 3.3 percentage points.
  • Antoinette Sandbach AM. Previously a barrister, Sandbach has represented North Wales as a regional Member of the Welsh Assembly since 2011. In 2010 she stood in Delyn, where she increased the Conservative vote share by 8.5 percentage points.
  • Kemi Badenoch. An Associate Director in financial services with degrees in both Engineering and Law, Badenoch has been a governor of two inner city schools. She also sits on the Board of Charlton Triangle Homes, a housing association in London. In 2010 she stood (under her maiden name, Kemi Adegoke) in Dulwich and West Norwood, increasing the Conservative vote share by 1.3 percentage points. In 2012 she was a list candidate for the London Assembly.