The Private Members’ Bill ballot took place this morning. Here are the results from the top of the queue:

1. Andrew George, Liberal Democrat MP for St Ives

2. Michael Moore, Liberal Democrat MP for Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk

3. Robert Neill, Conservative MP for Bromley and Chislehurst

4. Richard Bacon, Conservative MP for South Norfolk

5. Jeremy Lefroy, Conservative MP for Stafford

6. Clive Efford, Labour MP for Eltham

7. Sarah Teather, Liberal Democrat MP for Brent Central

8. Julian Sturdy, Conservative MP for York Outer

9. Mr Mark Spencer, Conservative MP for Sherwood

10. Jonathan Evans, Conservative MP for Cardiff North

11. Ian Mearns, Labour MP for Gateshead

12. Dan Jarvis, Labour MP for Barnsley Central

13. Jake Berry, Conservative MP for Rossendale and Darwen

14. Andrew Bingham, Conservative MP for High Peak

15. Yvonne Fovargue, Labour MP for Makerfield

16. John Hemming, Liberal Democrat MP for Birmingham Yardley

17. Mr Christopher Chope, Conservative MP for Christchurch

18. Mark Lazarowicz, Labour (Co-op) MP for Edinburgh North and Leith

19. David Davis, Conservative MP for Haltemprice and Howden

20. Martin Horwood, Liberal Democrat MP for Cheltenham

As you can see, it was a freakishly good day for the Liberal Democrats, winning spots 1 and 2 despite their low number of MPs. The presence of Bob Neill at Number 3 on the list is a bit of good news for David Cameron – Neill is close to the Government, whereas someone like Peter Bone might well have submitted the Deputy Prime Minister (Abolition) Bill, opening a can of worms.

The question now is whether Neill will reintroduce James Wharton’s EU Referendum Bill – if the Bill was reintroduced with identical language, there is a chance the Parliament Act could then be used to force it through if Lib Dem and Labour Lords were to again obstruct the will of the Commons.

2 comments for: Will Bob Neill reintroduce Wharton’s Referendum Bill?

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.