The New Year Honours list is sufficiently lengthy that we won’t run through the whole thing. Instead, I thought I’d pick out the Conservatives to congratulate (if I’ve missed anyone out, do let me know in the comments):

  • Peter Luff and Richard Ottaway, both of whom are stepping down as MPs in 2015, have received knighthoods
  • Karren Brady, the businesswoman who is the face of Conservative business campaigns, got a CBE
  • Conservatives in local government received  several Honours, including: an MBE for Cllr David Burbage, Leader of the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead; a CBE for Cllr Paul Carter, Leader of Kent County Council; an MBE for Cllr John Simmonds, Deputy Leader of Kent County Council; an OBE for Cllr Gordon Nicolson, Leader of Eden District Council; an MBE for Cllr Katherine Cutts, former Leader of Nottinghamshire County Council; an MBE for Cllr Jonathan Clarke, Leader of Rushcliffe Borough Council; an MBE for Cllr Mark Hawthorne, Leader of Gloucestershire County Council; an MBE for Cllr Andrew Lewer, Leader of Derbyshire County Council;
  • The voluntary Party is also recognised with Emma Pidding, Chairman of the National Conservative Convention, receiving a CBE, and Marion Dowding of West Oxfordshire Conservative Association; Carole Hyde, the former Chairman of the Conservative Party Disciplinary Committee; and Prudence Winton of West Worcestershire Conservative Association being given MBEs

Last but not least, Trevor Mort, Chairman of the Conservative Party’s Disciplinary Committee, received an OBE – hopefully this isn’t a sign his committee will be needed in the coming year…