‘Notwithstanding any provision of the European Communities Act 1972, nothing in this Act shall affect or be construed by any court in the United Kingdom as affecting the supremacy of the United Kingdom Parliament.’

The forty MPs who voted for Bill Cash’s Supremacy of Parliament amendment – all in defiance of the Tory whip:

  1. Ancram, rh Mr. Michael
  2. Bacon, Mr. Richard
  3. Binley, Mr. Brian
  4. Bone, Peter
  5. Butterfill, Sir John
  6. Carswell, Mr. Douglas
  7. Cash, Mr. William
  8. Chope, Mr. Christopher
  9. Davies, David T.C. (Monmouth)
  10. Davies, Philip
  11. Duncan Smith, rh Mr. Iain
  12. Dunne, Mr. Philip
  13. Evans, Mr. Nigel
  14. Fraser, Christopher
  15. Gale, Mr. Roger
  16. Gray, Mr. James
  17. Heathcoat-Amory, rh Mr. David
  18. Hogg, rh Mr. Douglas
  19. Hollobone, Philip
  20. Holloway, Mr. Adam
  21. Jenkin, Mr. Bernard
  22. Knight, rh Mr. Greg
  23. Leigh, Mr. Edward
  24. Lilley, rh Mr. Peter
  25. Main, Anne
  26. Malins, Mr. Humfrey
  27. Pritchard, Mark
  28. Redwood, rh Mr. John
  29. Scott, Mr. Lee
  30. Shepherd, Mr. Richard
  31. Spink, Bob
  32. Stuart, Mr. Graham
  33. Tapsell, Sir Peter
  34. Turner, Mr. Andrew
  35. Walker, Mr. Charles
  36. Whittingdale, Mr. John
  37. Widdecombe, rh Miss Ann
  38. Wilshire, Mr. David
  39. Winterton, Ann
  40. Winterton, Sir Nicholas

33 comments for: Forty Conservative MPs defy party whip and vote for supremacy of UK Parliament

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.