CCHQ advise me that the following Police and Crime Commissioner candidates have been selected so far:

  • Avon & Somerset: Mark Weston
  • Bedfordshire: Kathryn Holloway
  • Cheshire: John Dwyer
  • Cleveland: Matthew Vickers
  • Cumbria: Peter McCall
  • Derbyshire: Richard Bright
  • Devon & Cornwall: Alison Hernandez
  • Dyfed Powys: Christopher Salmon
  • Essex: Roger Hirst
  • Hertfordshire: David Lloyd
  • Humberside: Matthew Grove
  • Leicestershire: Neil Bannister
  • Lincolnshire: Marc Jones
  • Norfolk: Lorne Green
  • Northumbria: Stewart Hay
  • North Yorkshire: Julia Mulligan
  • Nottinghamshire: Anthony Harper
  • South Yorkshire: Ian Walker
  • Staffordshire: Matthew Ellis
  • Suffolk: Tim Passmore
  • Surrey: David Munro
  • Sussex: Katy Bourne
  • Thames Valley: Andrew Stansfeld
  • Warwickshire: Philip Seccombe
  • West Mercia: John-Paul Campion
  • Wiltshire: Angus MacPherson

So by my count that’s 26 out of the 40 contests taking place in May. (Greater Manchester are postponing their election until 2017 when the post will be absorbed into a directly elected mayoralty.) I have already written about my optimism that the Conservatives will make gains.

Of those selected to date we know that Conservative incumbents will be standing again in Cheshire, Dyfed-Powys, Hertfordshire, Humberside, North Yorkshire, Staffordshire, Suffolk, Sussex, Thames Valley and Wiltshire.

In Cumbria, Devon and Cornwall, Essex and Leicestershire the Conservatives won last time but will be fielding new candidates.

Those areas still to select are:

  • Cambridgeshire
  • Dorset
  • Durham
  • Gloucestershire
  • Gwent
  • Hampshire
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Merseyside
  • North Wales
  • Northamptonshire
  • South Wales
  • West Midlands
  • West Yorkshire

I will do my best to update you on further developments.