Welcome aboard to Cllr Stephen Hirst, who represents Tetbury Ward on Cotswold District Council. He is the latest councillor on that authority to leave the Independents Group and join the Conservatives.

Cllr Hirst says:

“As an Independent member for Tetbury since 2007 watching from the sidelines I have been impressed with the way the Conservatives have run Cotswold District Council. They have cut costs, yet protected services. They support our Cotswold market towns and I’d even go so far as to say that I agree with their car parking policies!

“I believe the Cotswolds are in good hands under the Conservatives – that’s why I have joined them.”

The Council leader Cllr Lynden Stowe welcomed Cllr Hirst to the group:

“Conservative members have always had huge respect for Stephen. Not only was he an outstanding mayor for Tetbury, he’s also really hardworking councillor who works in the best interests all Cotswold residents. We all look forward to working closer with Stephen – he’s going to be a real asset to Cotswold Conservatives.”

Cllr Hirst is the third Independent member to join the Conservative group in the last twelve months and follows Cllr Chris Hancock (Northleach) and Cllr Sue Coakley (Kempsford & Lechlade).

Cotswold District Council will be cutting their Council Tax this year. I hope to have more news on this soon.